Select Page

The Commission

The Peel Watershed Planning Commission is responsible for developing and recommending a draft regional land use plan for the Peel watershed planning region. The Commission is composed of six public members nominated by the Na-cho Nyak Dun, the Gwich’in Tribal Council, as a joint Yukon Government/Vuntut Gwitchin nominee, a joint Yukon Government/ Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in nominee and two Yukon Government nominees.

Commission Members

Watershed Planning Commission as of March 2011

(L-R ) Robert Bruce Jr., Connie Buyck, Peter Kaye, Dave Loeks (Chairman), Steve Taylor, and (seated) Ray Hayes  (Photo: PWPC)

Dave Loeks – Chairman

Dave Loeks has spent much time in the Peel Watershed, having guided canoe trips in the area for over 20 years. Dave is a sustainable development management consultant, with his company TransNorthern Management Consulting. Dave’s educational background includes forest ecology, public management and business administration. He has also been a key member of the Tourism Industry Association Yukon and the Wilderness Tourism Association of Yukon.

Steve Taylor

Born and raised in Dawson, Steve served as the Chief of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in for nine years. Steve was a land claims negotiator for Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and has participated in the development of the Klondike Valley Land Use Plan. He also sits on the Dawson Regional Planning Commission.

Ray Hayes – Vice-Chairman

Ray Hayes is a retired public servant, having worked 22 years with Yukon Government and 12 years with the Government of Canada. While at YG, he worked in the Department of Finance for about 14 years, including in the following positions: Director of Taxation, and ADM Financial Operations and Revenue Services. Ray Hayes has also served as President and CEO of Yukon Liquor Corporation, Deputy Minister of the Department of Government Services, Cabinet Secretary and Deputy Minister of Executive Council Office, and Trustee for the City of Dawson.

Connie Buyck

Connie Buyck is an NND citizen born and raised in Mayo. She is currently employed as the post mistress in Mayo. She has a wealth of knowledge regarding traditional food sources and has roamed much of NND’s Traditional Territory in search of berries, roots and other food products. She also has participated in the harvesting and smoking of fish from the various rivers and lakes in the Traditional Territory. Connie has also served on the NND Lands and Resources advisory committee and has been involved in search and rescue and ambulance attendance.

Peter J. Kaye

Peter Kaye lives in Fort McPherson, NWT, and has trapped in the Peel watershed for over 20 years. He has canoed the Snake River and worked in the Peel watershed for CPAWS and on the Caribou River staging area clean-up. Peter has served on several boards and was active in the planning process for the Gwich’in Land Use Plan.

Robert Bruce Jr.

Robert Bruce Jr., a Vuntut Gwitchin citizen and cultural specialist grew up on the land in North Yukon. Robert served as a Councillor for his First Nation and later as Chief from 1992-1996, during which time the Vuntut National Park was established. Robert Bruce Jr. served as MLA for Old Crow from 1996-2000. Robert has served on various boards and committees, including the Vuntut Gwitchin Heritage Committee since its inception in 1999, during which time he worked on transcribing traditional place names within the VGFN Traditional Territory, and most recently as Chair of the North Yukon Renewable Resources Council.